Saturday, December 29, 2007

Good Morning, Holy Spirit - Benny Hinn

My birthday present from a fellow Attributes member, Yi Fei, this book was what I wanted to read for a long time. I have heard so much about it, that high expectations for this book had been built up over the months. And when I finally laid my eyes on it, Benny Hinn certainly delivers! With the anointing of God in his words and testimony.

It is so much more than a handbook to develop a relationship with the Holy Spirit. This book chronicles the childhood of Benny Hinn and the migration of his family from Israel to Canada. I was captivated by the power of God that worked in his life, and more than that, the sure possibility that the very same God can work the same miracles in our lives as well too. If only we allow Him to.

Reading is not as good as application of the advice dispensed. Time and again, he reminds us that we gotta seek God and we will find him. The boy with the bicycle manual will never learn how to ride, even if he read it a million times, if he doesn't get on the bike at all. So we must set our hearts to seek after God, to pray for the presence of God, His Holy Spirit to come to us, and He will surely grant our prayers.

As Katherine Kulman was a powerful influence in the life of young Benny Hinn, so is he to our lives today. It is a great book and an essential one to every Christian today. So pick up a copy today!

Ender's Game - Orson Scott Card


A fantastic book that was Christmas present by Meiling. Well Ender's Game is THE sci-fi story you've ever hoped for. It is intelligent, gripping and one truly awesome page-turner. It is well, about Ender and the games he plays.

If I have anything to complain about it, it would be that it is a tad too dark for comfort. With all the violence, hurting and spite in the young 10 year olds, I'd not recommend it for children and tweens, perhaps teens and older.

Read the book within a day. I really really love this as a sci-fi book. Would be rank right beside Asimov's books. I must say the book has aged really well. Even though it was written literally decades ago, yet it is still one refreshing read.

Saturday, December 1, 2007

20 Compelling Evidences That God Exists - Kenneth D. Boa, Robert M., Jr. Bowman



Read this book within 2 days. Haha in the midst of my exams no less! Hahaha. Well my dad borrowed this book from the local library and it was lying around. So being bored with Basic Inorganic Chemistry, I picked it up intending to flip through it. But with its clear double spaced lines and witty speech, I devoured half the book, from Evidence 1 to Evidence 11 in one night.

Fantastic stuff. Haha, the dust jacket starts off with the verse: "Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for hte hope that you have." 1 Peter 3:15 NIV. Yup and so it goes. It takes off with an intellectual discourse, but in layman terms. The authors both teach at universities and have PhDs, so if you're expecting some lightweight material, look elsewhere.

This book is aimed at everyone, not just Christians, to answer questions that many people have concerning God. It has substantial reasoning and in the earlier chapters, you must read closely to follow, especially on the section about how relativistic statements fall back into themselves. Haha, relativity is only for the physicists. Some statements do have loopholes in them but they are minor and are easily spotted as being perhaps inadequate examples or figures of speech.

My favourite was Number 8: The Evidence of a Fallen World. Many claim that God doesn't exist because there is so much evil in the world today. But the existence of good and evil coexisting is the very proof that God exist. This is because evil is a choice made by humans. And if we can make no such choice, then we'd simply be robots living in this world. However, God sent Jesus down to redeem us, and set us free. In any case, my own opinions and thoughts here don't do justice to the great book that everyone should read. Its witty, thought-provoking and more.

Monday, August 27, 2007

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - J.K. Rowling


A most interesting book. First of all, my heartfelt thanks to my classmate Yiwei for lending me the book last Wednesday even before you even started reading it!

Haha, well I heard spoilers here and there but it was nevertheless a great read! The book is substantially lighter than the previous tomes and I was pretty surprised at the weight of it.

It was engrossing and I completed reading it within 1 day and returned it to her the day after. Haha.

What can I say? J.K. Rowling simply weaves magic like nobody's business. And I think it must have been sometime since I read The half-blood prince cos I had forgotten when Harry got a new girlfriend and then broke up again. I should read it again really. Haha.

Well, well, the true test came, but it was slightly anti-climatic, I expected a more intense wandfight between Voldermort and Harry at the end instead of just a single spell.

Lalala, but I especially loved the mystique and adventure of Harry, Hermonine and Ron. Though it seemed a little draggy - always does cos you can't wait to get to the end - but yup. Whee! Won't mind reading all 7 again!

A million stars for this epic.

What Would Jesus Do - Charles M. Sheldon


A most interesting book. I bought it at the Great Attributes Sale, I think it was $9.90 and Pauline told me she had a copy after I showed it to her...

Haha anyways, I thought it was a book about principles, rules to follow and stuff. How sadly mistaken I was. Don't ever judge a book by its cover! Haha.

It was a narrative, a true tale set in the early 19th century on how a pastor's life was impacted by a tramp on the streets who collapsed in his church, a highly respectable institution and how his whole life and ministry was transformed.

A pretty long read by standards because of the style, its quite different from the snappy pace of books today. But now you know where the phrase came from. After reading I also felt impacted by the miracles that happened just because one person obeyed God.

Reminds me of Shamgar:)

Coming up next... Finally! Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!

Friday, August 3, 2007

The Fall of Lucifer - Wendy Alec


Just finished it this morning on the bus to work. Wow! It's such an amazing book I picked up from the Kallang Attributes Warehouse courtesy of Kelvin. Haha.

It has such glorious, beautiful and lush descriptions of Heaven it'd probably convert an unbeliever in just a few chapters. Haha. Well basically the story is about the 3 archangels, Lucifer, the star of the morning, Michael the warrior and Gabriel the Revelator. And of course how Lucifer fell.

It was jealousy. Amazing. I felt it wasn't fully fleshed out, how Lucifer was consumed by jealousy, it seemed to have happened too quickly, but I guessed that's how such powerful emotions work. It doesn't take time, it happens instantly.

Well, this was the first book in years I've truly enjoyed, and I couldn't wait to find out what happened next. Now when was the last time I read a book like that? Hmm..... Can't remember. It's a must read!!! I can't wait to lay my hands on the following books!

Wednesday, May 30, 2007

From Jerusalem to Irian Jaya - Ruth A. Tucker


It's a most inspirational book. I finally learn what it means to obey the Great Commission - Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.

It is simply awesome. Nowadays people complain about how aggressive Christians are trying to convert them. And children of God get scared. Really, its simply to share the love of God, to be an effective witness for Christ. Just tell them what Christ has done in your life.

Man, Paul was stoned, shipwrecked 7 times, whipped, imprisoned, yet he kept true to his calling. Missionaries have helped saved millions from starvation by providing aid, like World Vision has, and they have also been eaten alive, was it Studd, sailed to islands, never to be heard from again. All to save a world destined for the netherworld. With one life to live, with a cause to die for, they certainly led a glorious life, but were always humble, giving God all the glory.

We see how missions can be bad for individual families, with the heavy commitment upon their shoulders, and how ordinary people lived up to their calling in an awesome way.

This book chronicles the exploits of the major personalities of missionaries in the past 2000 years, and we see how the flow has changed throughout the years.

Excellent book for a believer.

Tuesday, May 29, 2007

My Sister's Keeper - Jodi Picoult



Working at a bookstore during the holidays now and apart from the trashy historical romance novels that corrupts my mind, I have this bestseller to keep me away from them.

It starts off rather well, but gets draggy in the middle, I can't wait for it to end. Keeps going around the same issue over and over again. Still somewhere in the middle on page 238. Notwithstanding the fact that I can't read it in one sitting, only when no customers are around and when boss isn't around.

Its about cloning, ethics, and more importantly, humans and their emotions. This books is a very real 1st persons narration of the events that take place in their lives and their very real responses. All the characters have their own reasons, needs to be fulfilled and you can really empathize with them as you go along. One character for every person. Julie for the single career woman, Jesse for every delinquent child who was once good, Brian, the parent in the middle, Sara the mom torn apart by her sick child and more.

Interesting book. And I hope to lay my hands on Nineteen Minutes by the same author since Attributes bookstore stocks it.

Sunday, May 20, 2007

Battlefield of the Mind - Joyce Meyer

One of the essential books every Christian should have. This books deals with many issues that confront us today, wrong thoughts, wrong beliefs about God that we've created ourselves, and God doesn't want us to have.

After reading this, your maturity level and spiritual level will increase several notches. This is one of those books that after reading, you'll know uncover so much revelation and be positively swimming in that some people would have to take years in church to realise.

Everything begins in the mind. You are what you believe. So you must believe right thoughts, that God loves you, that God condemns slothful living, that God is a merciful God.

Go through the 10 Wilderness Mentalities and review if you're living a proper life, and if you're a Christian living in depression, this book is certainly for you. For the joy of the Lord is my strength.

In easy, bite-size chapters, it is like a series of quality sweet treats on a plate, lasting, impressive yet not too cloyingly sweet, that you want more and more of it.

Joyce Meyer is indeed a most anointed writer, so check this book out!

Thanks Rochelle for the book!

Thursday, May 10, 2007

Wake Up Call - Glenn Lim


This is a most inspirational book that Yi Xuan lent me. And I devoured it all in one day. Read it on my way to driving school and back home.

It's a mini autobiography of Glenn Lim, once a drug abuser and rebel, then reformed by Teen Challenge, a group led by Sam Kuna who focuses on the marginalized in society. He talks about himself, his childhood, the angry teenage years, and the wild, rockin', drug-filled young adult years before it all came crashing down on him. Wake Up Call tells us how Glenn got a rude awakening from the law. The possibility of a lifetime in prison was the turning point of his life.

Someone once mentioned how people, especially those talented ones, are prideful, and rely on themselves, denying God the rightful place in their life, until it is too late. But it's never too late. Glenn Lim realized that and is here today, telling us his story.

It is written in first person, in a simple but emphatic style. Most people would take to it, and with its clear font and spacing, it is easy on the eyes. The pace is kept up with all the action in the life of Glenn Lim, from a teenage rebel, a rocker upstart then a humbled prisoner.

It ain't perfect, there are some repetitions here and there, when he talks about his family relationships. However, these faults make the book endearing and real. Unlike a highly polished biography, this book keeps it raw and real. The pace is fast, and you'd keep wanting to move on to the next chapter of his life. This book is a real page turner and an avid reader would probably finish it in a day.

Very touching too, pages 82 to 88. Brought tears to my eyes as I was reading it.

All in all, I'd recommend everyone to read it. Not often you get a local author who openly talks about how hard teenage life is, and shows us his scars, his faults, but also how he has overcome them with the help from many people.

Introduction

I love to read. Seriously. So here's a little blog chronicling my latest reads.

Hope it proves to be helpful.

Enjoy.